Tackler/Jackler

nylluma

Rugby Club Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2017
Messages
17
Post Likes
0
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
Hello all,
Red ball carrier runs towards Blue player. Blue player holds carrier and pulls him down but does not go to ground. Then blue attempts to jackal after releasing red.

1) Is blue a tackler?
2) Is the jackal legal?
3) Would the jackal be legal if blue didn't release red?

Thanks.
 

Phil E


Referees in England
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
15,458
Post Likes
1,754
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
1. No he is an other player.
2. Yes if he has released the ball carrier and entered the tackle zone from the direction of his own goal line before playing the ball.
3. No, PK, not releasing.
 
Top