[Line out] Wind and planes of touch

Rich_NL

Rugby Expert
Joined
Apr 13, 2015
Messages
1,627
Post Likes
505
Red kick off and the ball sails wide, over the plane of touch, before being blown back into the FoP by a sudden, unexpected rough gust of wind. Blue 11 has one foot in touch and catches it.

The laws talk about whether the ball has reached the plane of touch. During flight or at the point of catching? Blown-back conversions are still valid, but blown-back touch/TIG is different.

So do you reward red for his poor kick, or blue for killing a live ball? ;)
 

Dickie E


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
14,225
Post Likes
2,219
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
If ball was caught in FoP, Red lineout.

So do you reward red for his poor kick,

anyone who can kick into a wind such that the ball crosses the touchline and blows back in to land in FoP gets my vote for "play of the day"! :)
 
Last edited:

Flish


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 2, 2013
Messages
1,544
Post Likes
358
Location
Durham
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
If ball was caught in FoP, Red lineout.

Agree, in all probability it’s the only thing I can be 100% about from most positions on the pitch, and I don’t get AR’s that know the laws
 
Top