[Kit] A bit random this but ...

neilyboy

Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Level 9
... has anyone toyed with the idea of wearing a go-pro or similar (other wearable cameras are available!) to review your decisions in the days after the event?

What are the pro's and con's of this? I'm obviously talking about for the lower levels not natonal leagues etc.

cheers for your thoughts

4eyesbetter

Referees in England
Post Likes
I've been wearing a Panasonic A-100 in most of my games for the last two years and I can safely say that it's one of the best investments I've ever made. I'd recommend it to anyone who can afford it.

neilyboy

Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Level 9
thanks 4eyes. Can I ask where you got it and what other holders you have for the camera?

4eyesbetter

Referees in England
Post Likes
The major benefit of the A-100 and other models in that range is that Panasonic designed it with the idea of being directly head-wearable. GoPros are lovely things, but for our purposes they're shite because they were designed with the assumption that you'd clip them onto a helmet or mount them on some fixed object. The Panasonics all clip into a headphone-style mount that sits next to your eye. (Other mounting options are available.) Looks like this, apologies for low-quality image.

SKs8iRl.png

The one drawback with the A-100 is that it's a lens on a long string, leading to a control box. Looks like this.

49fnvUJ.jpg

Which means you have to put the control box somewhere. And guess what? The string is half a metre too short to be really useful. I've had extra pockets sewn into my shorts, but if I were any taller than 5 foot 9 it simply wouldn't reach my waist and I'd have to keep the box in a somewhat awkward arm holster instead (a shirt with a top pocket would be ideal, but apparently rugby doesn't believe in shirt pockets).