Defender Held Up In-Goal

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
19,659
Post Likes
2,221
so this one made SA Refs

Question: An attacking player kicks the ball into in-goal, and a defending player picks up the ball and is swamped by attackers so he cannot ground the ball. What would be the correct restart?

Thanks, Paul.

Marius van der Westhuizen: Hi Paul,

Good question as you don’t see that all that often! The outcome would be a scrum and the attacking team would feed the ball as per Law 22.10.

Regards, Marius

which is exactly the decision made by pwhaling in the OP....

http://www.sareferees.com/ref-replies/duty-ref-498--marius-van-der-westhuizen/2829630/
 
Top