Failed maul

Womble

Facebook Member
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
National Panel
I'm starting to get a bit of a bee in my bonnet with posters stating that if the ball is on the ground after a failed maul that it is a ruck!!! As a coach, my players are coached to not roll away at a failed maul to secure the turnover. in 6 of the 10 games we have payed this year they have been pinged for not rolling away at a failed maul.

Please discuss so that we can get it right

OB..

Referees in England
Staff member
Post Likes
Clarify the referee's view before the game, and then play accordingly.

Rushforth

Referees in Holland
Post Likes
My understanding is that in modern interpretation, the ball-carrier is allowed some leeway to go to ground after the maul has formed, and that if he can do so "immediately" he can place the ball in a matter similar to a ruck, if he can.

That we give them this leeway makes sense to some degree - it usually gets the ball out quite quickly - and I agree it is unfair to ping a "wrapping player" who is dragged down to ground by the BC.

That said, "wrapping players" can and do collapse mauls when the BC is not actively trying to get the ball down on the ground to be put back into play.

From a coaching perspective, it is generally preferable to ruck ASAP if good support is available, and for the ball-carrier to stay on his feet if it isn't until a maul is formed. At this point he can "immediately" go to ground, but that doesn't make it a ruck, IMO.

When mauls go to ground and the ball isn't playable due to a player "unable to roll away", the first time it happens it is a scrum for ball not coming out, but also a "tell" to both sides of "no playing on the ground".

Decorily

Coach/Referee
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
This has been discussed numerous times and methinks another one now wont clear it up either!!