Law 5: Time

the rushen

New member
Joined
Oct 13, 2018
Messages
8
Post Likes
0
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
This one has got our coaches scratching their heads and the consensus is the law is badly worded.


Regarding the new (May 2018) law 7.c

It says:


  • 7. A half ends when the ball becomes dead after time has expired unless:
    • c. A penalty is kicked directly to touch without the ball first being tapped and without the ball touching another player.
The law states ...'and' without the ball touching another player. It does not state 'or'.

Therefore is it correct to say that the ball must be both tapped and played by another player before being licked into touch?

Or should either instance be allowed, in which case the law is badly worded.

I look forward to your thoughts.

Ezra
 

tewdric


Referees in Wales
Joined
Sep 18, 2018
Messages
179
Post Likes
47
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
If you get rid of the double negative it is clear - from a penalty kick kicked directly into touch, the ball only becomes dead if it is first tapped or touches another player on the way.
 

Camquin

Rugby Expert
Joined
Mar 8, 2011
Messages
1,653
Post Likes
310
The wording is correct - but very confusing.
However, it passes the naive reading age test used by the IRB which merely counts the number of words in a sentence and the number letters in words.
 

the rushen

New member
Joined
Oct 13, 2018
Messages
8
Post Likes
0
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
The wording is correct - but very confusing.
However, it passes the naive reading age test used by the IRB which merely counts the number of words in a sentence and the number letters in words.

It cant be both correct and confusing, surely? It sounds like the 'and' should be replaced by 'or' as there are two options for killing the half from a PK.
 

tewdric


Referees in Wales
Joined
Sep 18, 2018
Messages
179
Post Likes
47
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
The wording is correct as both conditions have to be negative for the "unless" to apply.
 

OB..


Referees in England
Staff member
Joined
Oct 7, 2004
Messages
22,981
Post Likes
1,838
It cant be both correct and confusing, surely? It sounds like the 'and' should be replaced by 'or' as there are two options for killing the half from a PK.
If you put "or", then you could kick directly to touch to end the half/game as long as the ball does not touch another player.

A tap kick constitutes taking the penalty, so any subsequent kick is from open play. Putting it (directly) into touch therefore ends the half/game.
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,824
Post Likes
3,159
So some example s
Blue PK
Blue kick it directly into touch, line out
Blue kick it indirectly into touch , half ends
Blue kick , red get a hand to it just before it goes into touch .. half ends
Blue tap it, then kick to touch , half ends
 

Camquin

Rugby Expert
Joined
Mar 8, 2011
Messages
1,653
Post Likes
310
It is phrased and NOT(A) AND NOT(B) which equals NOT(A OR B)
So it is correct - however, it is not clear.

I believe the ball may bounce - as long the penalty kick ends up in touch before the ball is played, the line out will be taken.
It the ball goes TIG or over the DBL then the half ends.
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,824
Post Likes
3,159
I believe the ball may bounce - as long the penalty kick ends up in touch before the ball is played, the line out will be taken.

No.
If the ball bounces, then time is up , end of the half.

There is only a lineout if the ball goes directly to touch
 

Dickie E


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
14,218
Post Likes
2,217
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
What it should say is:

•7. A half ends when the ball becomes dead after time has expired unless:
•c. A penalty is kicked directly into touch

(this next bit is in definitions: )
Kicked directly into touch: The ball is kicked into touch without first landing on the playing area or touching a player or the referee.
 
Top