RWC 2019 Japan - HIA

L'irlandais

, Promises to Referee in France
Post Likes
Two Irish players failed HIA 1 at the weekend.
Yet now Ireland have announced they have both passed HIA 2 & HIA 3. Isn’t this a misuse of the protocol? In that, if you fail HIA 1 then you have suffered a suspected concussion and must follow the return to play protocols.
HIA 2 & 3 are a safety net to double check that a player removed from play, just to be on the safe side, but who got thru’ HIA 1 still be monitored just in case. Rather that a get put clause for those who we know have already had a suspected concussion.

Last edited:

Decorily

Coach/Referee
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
One of the perks of being a professional player!

Decorily

Coach/Referee
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
In fairness they may not actually have been concussed

Decorily

Coach/Referee
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
I'm not an expert...but I think you'll find that failing HIA does not mean definitively that they were concussed.
Conversely I believe they could be concussed and pass the HIA.

crossref

Referees in England
Post Likes
I'm not an expert...but I think you'll find that failing HIA does not mean definitively that they were concussed.
Conversely I believe they could be concussed and pass the HIA.

Well, I think WR have hung their hooks on the HIA assessments as being the best tests available. Are you aware of better ones ?

Decorily

Coach/Referee
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
As I've stated I'm not an expert.
Maybe WR's tests are the best that are available.

Edit.....But given that symptoms of concussion may not become apparent until some time after the injury the can hardly be called definitive.

Last edited:

Camquin

Rugby Expert
Post Likes
Failing HIA 1 should not mean there is concussion, only that there may be concussion.
If the player is then symptom free three and 36 hours later they can return to play.