Stree Coping Strategies Employed by Referees

sgoat

Referees in England
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Level 7
Stress Coping Strategies Employed by Referees

A friend of mine at uni is doing a survey of referees in England for his dissertation. If you fit into this category and have 15 minutes to spare, please could you give it a go.

So far I understand he has about 60 results including 4 elite referees and he is hoping to increase his sample size and breadth of refereeing experience.

Below is the blurb from the survey and a link.

Dear Referee

My name is Fergus Kirby and I am in the final year of my Sport BA(Hons) degree at Durham University and am currently writing my dissertation on the 'stressful experiences and stress coping strategies employed by rugby union referees'. As a referee myself it is something that has always interested me how different referees deal with stress and anxiety in the job that we do. My dissertation requires me to complete a piece of independent research that will be a basis for my final year mark. To complete the study I need to conduct a survey of as many referees within England as possible.

The link below (you might have to copy and paste it into your search bar) will take you to an online survey consisting of 60 questions that should take you no more than 15 minutes to complete. I would be hugely grateful if you could complete it and share your experience of stress and how you deal with it. https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/QPMLGGN

Last edited:

Lee Lifeson-Peart

Referees in England
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Level 6
Done it.

I'm off to breath into a paper bag now!!:biggrin:

Simon Thomas

Referees in England
Staff member
Post Likes
Couple of guys it is worth Fergus contacting are

Matt Kiernan (Hampshire & Navy L7) who is a RN Psychiatric Nurse (two ringer possibly ?) who has just done his PhD and has an excellent Society presentation on referees handling stress / conflict.