tapped FKs at scrummages - a thought

didds

Resident Club Coach
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
11,134
Post Likes
1,331
We typically see any tapped FKs that are awarded for scrum infringements tapped by the #8 - presumably because the FK mark is mid tunnel, the packs are still in the way, so the tap is taken behind and in line with the mark.
This in effect means the attackers lose a couple or three metres of territory with the tap - so while the oppo defence ,must "start" from 10m behind the mark, in reality the attackers start 13m from them so don't probably make as much forward territory before the defence has come up to them.

May it not be more reasonable for the laws to support a FK mark at the edge of the tunnel in such circumstances?
( Clearly this isn't supported by the laws as they stand and I am not suggesting anyone start doing such a thing - this is merely for discussion).

In essence the side awarded the FK are penalised territory because of the situation.

didds
 
Last edited:

Dickie E


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
13,628
Post Likes
1,755
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
I think current situation is quite fair. While the non-offending team lose a few metres, they gain with having 8 opponents with their heads up each others bottoms, with no idea what the whistle was for
 

Marc Wakeham


Referees in Wales
Joined
Jan 5, 2018
Messages
2,508
Post Likes
649
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
Surely it is the team's choice to take the tap behind the mark. If they don't want to "lose" the yardage don't take it until the scrum has dispersed.
 

didds

Resident Club Coach
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
11,134
Post Likes
1,331
well yes, - but then a tap with the defense set is mostly useless. They'd be better off with the scrum (which is why of course so often Fks are taken as scrums anyway - Australian trials notwithstanding at the moment)
 

Balones

Referee Advisor / Assessor
Joined
Oct 24, 2006
Messages
1,237
Post Likes
349
If you think about it the defending side are all offside if the ball is taken from the tunnel because they are only 5M back from the scrum and about 8M from the tunnel. They would have to run a further two metres back. (Are they likely to do this?) A tap at the No8 puts them onside. What would we prefer to manage?
 

Dickie E


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
13,628
Post Likes
1,755
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
Didds, while you say a FK is typically taken by #8, it would often be after the #9 has thrown it to her after a pre-engagement offence. I think allowing the #9 to take the tap at the tunnel half a second after the whistle would be very messy
 
Last edited:

chbg


Referees in England
Joined
May 15, 2009
Messages
1,353
Solutions
1
Post Likes
337
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
If you think about it the defending side are all offside if the ball is taken from the tunnel because they are only 5M back from the scrum and about 8M from the tunnel. They would have to run a further two metres back. (Are they likely to do this?) A tap at the No8 puts them onside. What would we prefer to manage?
But the offside line is 10m from where the FK/PK is awarded, not from where it is taken (20.14).

Those 8m from the mark are put onside as soon as someone 10m back moves in front of them, or as soon as they step back 2m.
 

didds

Resident Club Coach
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
11,134
Post Likes
1,331
Didds, while you say a FK is typically taken by #8, it would often be after the #9 has thrown it to her after a pre-engagement offence.

yes indeed.

I think allowing the #9 to take the tap at the tunnel half a second after the whistle would be very messy
what would be messy? Compared to (say) an immediate tap n go by a 9 anywhere else on the pitch eg at a ruck/maul ?

genuine question :)
 

smeagol


Referees in America
Joined
Apr 20, 2012
Messages
568
Post Likes
51
Location
Springfield, IL
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
yes indeed.


what would be messy? Compared to (say) an immediate tap n go by a 9 anywhere else on the pitch eg at a ruck/maul ?

genuine question :)

If you don't think some chippy 9 is going to run right at the forwards to draw a penalty, I have a bridge to sell you
 

didds

Resident Club Coach
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
11,134
Post Likes
1,331
meh. darwinian.

cos otherwise nothing ever gets changed because a f4ckwit doesn't understand the laws
Though Im sceptical that a flashpoint occurs because a pillock 9 runs into a flanker two feet from him, and throws his hands up then finds no award while the oppo backline close the attacking space.

YMMV.
 
Top