[Law] Competing in the Air

vrref

Player or Coach
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Level 5
Good Evening,

I am a former high level player, coach with some referee experience, looking to do more as I have been out for a few years and step up a level. I am new to this referee forum as I thought this would be a more appropriate place to post the questions than general rugby forums. I hope that you all would be able to help me with my questions. Thank you in Advance.

I am struggling with the guidance and interpretations of international referees on competing in the air. Tonight England beat South Africa in a fantastic game. I did however struggle to come to terms with some decisions that have effectively decided the result of the game. From someone that is looking to potentially move up a level as a referee and coach, how do we coach a player on the rules, or make decisions in games, if the interpretation on the world stage differs depending on the referee in the game? In the last year and especially in the autumn series, the referees have interpreted this rule with such variety that it is difficult to know what is right. With the amount of high balls being used in rugby and the pressure on young players to not make a decision that would have them sent off or penalised, should we not have a more clearly defined rule and more importantly implementation of these rules?

Questions I have for the Forum, I would truly appreciate your thoughts.

1. If these 2 crucial decisions (see photos attached) are not legally competing in the air, then what does class as a non-penalty or non-yellow card legal competition in the air? Surely it can't be that players should only compete in the air, if they can jump as high as the other player or competing will not cause the other player to be pushed or fall down as a result of competing?