[In-goal] Defender driven back into his own in-goal grounds the ball..

tewdric

Referees in Wales
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
Firstly I am just starting out on my refereeing journey so please excuse lots of stupid questions!

I understand that a tackled defender moving back ftom the field of play using their momentum can immediately touch down in-goal and get a 22 drop out, whereas if the defender carries the ball in to in-goal and touches down it is a 5m scrum to the attacking side.

My question is provoked by something I saw in a junior game at the weekend a defender received a pass from a team mate and was quickly wrapped up by an attacking player around the waist and forced back about 3m into in-goal, remaining on his feet. The defender the touched down. My immediate though was carried in - 5m scrum, however a 22 was awarded. What does the panel think?

mcroker

Rugby Expert
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Level 10
I agree with your immediate through - if the defender was forced into their own in-goal whilst carying the ball and then grounds/makes-dead.... scrum 5 (attack).

However the regulations governing the youth game are generally pretty incomplete (being a page or 2 vs. the full law book) and sometimes have some odd anomalies. Randomly checking the U12s age-grade-regulation, this specific scenario isn't actually covered - at which point I default to the full laws, and adapt as best I can ... I'd still award scrum 5 (attack).

Dickie E

Referees in Australia
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
I understand that a tackled defender moving back ftom the field of play using their momentum can immediately touch down in-goal and get a 22 drop out,

I don't understand what this means

mcroker

Rugby Expert
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Level 10
Ah - I skimmed that (a clear case of reading what you expected to see)...
I suspect it's a reference to

Law 8
[FONT=fs_blakeregular]2. A try is scored when an attacking player:
[/FONT]