French scrums....

macleod33

Referees in Finland
Post Likes
I'm a new member to this forum. I'm a french referee, near Bordeaux, refereeing from level 6 downwards.
These's been a lot of discussions over here concerning the CTS sequence at the pro level. Last season, most scrums had to be re-set a great number of times. This season, things are radically different. There are hardly any re-set scrums but most scrums end up either with a FK, PK and/or sin-bin. A few stats : on 14 scrums, 11 weren't played. 13/14 PKs per match. After 2 days of TOP 14, an average of 4-5 scrums per match are played correctly. The refs are being very strict but everybody's complaining.
I reckon the problem stems from the initial impact. Any FR will want to win the impact and if they don't, will collapse, bore in or any other cheating available.
These last few years, after many very serious injuries, a new sequence was created for all games from level 4 downwards. The sequence was slightly changed last season. Basically, there is no more impact!
On "CROUCH" (flexion), the FRs are temple against temple, second row+flankers one knee on the ground.
On "SET" (placement), the FRs join without impact and the other players settle down.
On "PAUSE" (stop), players get ready
On "PLAY" (jeu), the scrum half has 3 seconds to introduce the ball.
Players stop pushing when the ball has past one of the FRs.
The main advantage is that as there is no more impact, players have to get back to the scrum basics and PUSH!!! From a refs' point of view, there's still a lot of things to look out for but for the security of the players, it's great.
It would be interesting to know if there are other variations on the CTS sequence elsewhere.
Maybe if this type of sequence was introduced at the pro level, maybe things would be easier for everybody.

Womble

Facebook Member
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
National Panel