hands in the tackle/ruck

jcas1403

ELRA/Club Referee
Post Likes
I am a new referee, I have just finished my playing career. I am struggling to interpret one of the laws of the game, that is the use of hands on the ball in the tackle.

a ball carrier is brought to ground and releases the ball, a member of the opposition then legally puts his hands on the ball but does not pick it up very quickly, a member of the opposition then binds on, a ruck is formed with the player still with his hands on the ball, and the ball is still on the ground. does he have to take his hands off the ball when the ruck forms?

in the same situation, if the non ball carrying player gets his hands on the ball before the ruck forms, but drops it, or pushes it forward, is it still a knock on?

might sound a stupid question, but would rather get them out of the way now thanks

Ricardowensleydale

Player or Coach
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
As an ex-player non-ref a glance at 16.4 b says "Players must not handle the ball in a ruck except after a tackle if they are on their feet and have their hands on the ball before the ruck is formed.
Sanction: Penalty kick". I will be interested to see how refs inetrpret "after a tackle", is it relevant which player (attacking/defending) has their hands on the ball?

Davet

Referee Advisor / Assessor
Post Likes
If a player gets hands on before ruck forms he, and he alone, can have hands on after the ruck forms.

If he loses it forward then it is a knock on. Though probably it means the opposition will win possession and in my view this is one occasion when a knock on MAY not be material.

It doesn't matter which team he is on.

Ricardowensleydale

Player or Coach
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
What would happen if the above scenario happened after a kick and chase. That could not be considered "after a tackle". Would the player then be obliged to get his hands off the ball?

The Fat

Referees in Australia
Post Likes