Jumper Dummy Throw

smeagol


Referees in America
Joined
Apr 20, 2012
Messages
743
Post Likes
105
Location
Springfield, IL
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
Came up in my society's group chat, and found that there's nothing in law accounting for it

At a lineout, the jumper catches the ball off the top. Jumper then dummies a pass; the defensive line buys it and comes up, now offside because the ball hasn't left the lineout.

General consensus is to manage it - make sure the arm stays out indicating the lineout is not over, and giving the defense a chance to get onside.
 

Phil E


Referees in England
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
16,125
Post Likes
2,385
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
If he is dummying the throw then he probably isn't conforming to Law 18.29.c

29. Once the lineout has commenced, any player in the lineout may :
C: Lift or support a team-mate. Players who do so must lower that player to
the ground safely as soon as the ball is won
by either team.
Sanction: Free-kick.


I would warn the first time (bring him straight back down), then FK, then PK.
 

chbg


Referees in England
Joined
May 15, 2009
Messages
1,490
Solutions
1
Post Likes
450
Current Referee grade:
Level 7
Manage it, so that they are taking no part of the game whilst in an offside position (Definitions), and can retire immediately to their offside line (in spirit of 18.36). Throwing-in team (if not failing 18.29c noted by Phil) have the advantage of the opposition back-line back-pedalling, rather than being on their toes ready to respond.
 

Dickie E


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
14,176
Post Likes
2,175
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
The backline is one thing, you've also got the defending lineout participants to consider.

If the tail gunner ends up next to the SH when the ball eventually comes off the top, this won't be a "manage" situation. Unless the pause at the top is egregious (ie > 2 or 3 seconds), I'd view this as a valid tactic (like any other dummy pass).
 

didds

Resident Club Coach
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
12,112
Post Likes
1,819
If he is dummying the throw then he probably isn't conforming to Law 18.29.c

29. Once the lineout has commenced, any player in the lineout may :
C: Lift or support a team-mate. Players who do so must lower that player to
the ground safely as soon as the ball is won
by either team.
Sanction: Free-kick.


I would warn the first time (bring him straight back down), then FK, then PK.
so you are saying you CAN'T pass off the top eg to the receiver?
Because the jumper isnt being brought to ground ?
 

Phil E


Referees in England
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
16,125
Post Likes
2,385
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
so you are saying you CAN'T pass off the top eg to the receiver?
Because the jumper isnt being brought to ground ?

No. not saying that, what he can't do is be held up there with the ball, because he cant be touched while he is in the air, so just holding him in the air with the ball isn't allowed.
Either he passes away from the top, straight away.
Or gets brought back down to ground, with the ball, straight away.
 

didds

Resident Club Coach
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
12,112
Post Likes
1,819
ah - I didnt read the OP as being held up there. i read it as

lift
catch
immediate dummy (rather than pass off the top)
down

but Id agree - you cannot lift and hold and wait
 

Dickie E


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
14,176
Post Likes
2,175
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
No. not saying that, what he can't do is be held up there with the ball, because he cant be touched while he is in the air, so just holding him in the air with the ball isn't allowed.
Either he passes away from the top, straight away.
Or gets brought back down to ground, with the ball, straight away.
How long is "straight away"? Same as "without delay"?
 

Phil E


Referees in England
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
16,125
Post Likes
2,385
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
How long is "straight away"? Same as "without delay"?

The law says "as soon as the ball is won".

Make of that what you will.
 

tim White


Referees in England
Joined
Mar 14, 2005
Messages
2,007
Post Likes
262
TO TEAMS: Don't take the p*ss, we all know what a reasonable amount of time looks like. If you gain an advantage by the delay -or 'draw in' an infringement, then you cannot be surprised if I penalise you!
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,815
Post Likes
3,153
teams will be doing this with a complete expectation that the ref probably won't allow it. So they won't complain when you tell them not to
 
Top