My first assessment

gillburt

Referees in England
Post Likes
Had my first assessment on Saturday.

I was delighted to have it, as I've been reffing for 5 months now and was getting worried I was getting in to bad habits.
I was very pleased with the Assessor's feedback, both the +ve and especially the -ve.

There was one bit of feedback that I wanted to get your collective opinions on however.

I have a habit of sometimes tapping a player on the shoulder if they are doing something wrong. i.e. not bind properly at a ruck, offside and needing to get "back round". I have found it a useful way of getting a players attention, especially when "green 16" does work, cos the player doesn't know their number.

The assessor said I should stop it, as it just looks really messy and not good. I took his point. Then got home to watch the Wales/Ire match and saw the ref do exactly what I had been doing a couple of times.

I can see the point of not doing it, but wanted to get a wider opinion. Is it really a faux pas? To-date I've found it a useful management tool, especially for offside players in rucks/mauls who are immaterial but "could" become material.

Thoughts?

andyscott

Referees in England
Post Likes
I am no expert but, I would say not at a ruck or maul as you would be to close to see other things happening.

Tell them, ping them, that will stop them ;)

At international level the 2 AR would be checking for offsides etc so the ref can get close as he like IMO.

Chris P

Referees in England
Post Likes
I guess where the assessor might be coming from is that "invasion of personal space" is a tricky issue.
I am a tactile person by nature, and would see nothing wrong with what you are doing, and never had a problem with the ref putting a hand on my shoulder at scrum time, when he was explaining something to me.
I know of people who hate this, and would take the opposite view.