PK directly into touch-in-goal after time is up.

Camquin

Rugby Club Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2011
Messages
1,622
Post Likes
289
Time is up, and the ball has been made dead, so 5.7 applies.
The penalty has been taken under 5.7.b
The ball has not been kicked into touch, so 5.7.c does not apply.

So I see no reason not to end the half.

As I understand it, the kicker can retreat any distance from the mark, and can kick in any direction. So they could retreat to their own dead ball line and kick the ball over that. Which makes the whole, you have to be able to kick the ball out, pretty pointless. The side awarded a penalty after time is up, should simply have the option of ending the half.
 

Dickie E


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
13,628
Post Likes
1,755
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
Recently, in an junior game, I awarded Green a penalty a minute before the end of the game. Green chose to kick for the corner but the ball went directly into touch-in-goal. We restarted with a 22 drop out for Blue.


I know that this isn't the point of your post, but just want to check that you're aware that the correct restart is a scrum or 22 DO, decision to be made by non-offending captain.
 

Mipper


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 15, 2021
Messages
155
Post Likes
73
Current Referee grade:
Level 10
That is a good question. I would go with ‘play on’ from the 22/scrum, and with absolute certainty.

Although here, between ‘friends’ I am absolutely not certain at all!
Thanks to Angus, I am certain now! End of game for me 😄
 
Top