Question from a new ref...

Nihil RFU

Referees in America
Post Likes
I am a rookie ref who doesn't mind expressing opinions. If I'm off somewhere, show me where and why... but here is a question I have that I'd like some feedback on.

When calling knock ons, I try to see if the ball actually went forward. While in principle it seems fair, there are some times it is difficult to tell and calls can get botched. When I was learning the game at university, there were many old CARFU refs who would call _any_ mishandling a knock. Not the fairest, but it avoided botched calls.

Is calling any mishandling a knock in your opinions?

Any feedback is appreciated.

Ciaran Trainor

Referees in England
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Level 7
Mishandling is not a knock on, the ball has to go forward, if it doesn't, it isn't a knock on

Lee Lifeson-Peart

Referees in England
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Level 6
Mishandling ie a bit of juggling and it doesn't go forward and hit the floor or another player?

Play on.

IIUC.

Dixie

Referees in England
Post Likes
Welcome Nihil. Your question is one that most refs have to make a call on pretty much every game.

To be a knock-on, the ball must: a) go forward; b) hit the ground or another player before the original knocker-on regathers. So: if a regather occurs before it hits the ground or another player, then play on. The most usual doubt is whether or not it went forward. There are instances when most of us, I'm sure, would judge that it did - irrespective of evidence. Equally, those cases are rare.

By and large, if the ball is kicked long and the would-be catcher drops the ball with the ref a long way away, then for me, the presumption is knock-on unless I can clearly see it go backwards. Contrarily, if I'm in line with the backs as they pass it along, and there's a fumble - then I want to actually see it go forward before I whistle.

So I'm inconsistent on this - but I think I can justify the inconsistency.

OB..