[Line out] Question- lineout

Arabcheif

Player or Coach
Joined
Nov 2, 2018
Messages
680
Post Likes
74
Current Referee grade:
Level 1
Right I've got a quick question.

Law 18.1
I'm at the touchline, I've got one foot in play and one foot in touch. I catch the ball when the ball is over the plane of touch. So am I right in saying line out the the kick receiving team. If I've caught it before the ball reaches he plane of touch it's a line out to the kicking team. Or do we just play on as the ball "isn't in touch?"

If the ball is in touch has this changed over the last few years (10-15 years)?
 

Rich_NL

Rugby Expert
Joined
Apr 13, 2015
Messages
1,627
Post Likes
505
LO, your throw in. The other team took it over the plane.

Changed two years ago, IIRC, used to be your throw in irrespective of crossing the plane.
 

Arabcheif

Player or Coach
Joined
Nov 2, 2018
Messages
680
Post Likes
74
Current Referee grade:
Level 1
So Just to clarify one foot in touch/one foot in the field of play...
1. I catch the ball after crossing the plane of touch - LO to my team.
2. I catch the ball before crossing the plane of touch - LO against me as I've "carried it out."
Am I right with that yeah?
 

didds

Resident Club Coach
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
12,164
Post Likes
1,846
This used to be dead simple - it was "always" your throw until quite recently.

Now its down to the parallax your Level 9 ref returning from injury that is lacking a bit of fitness in the 72nd minute desperately trying to follow a turned over ball and long kick can manage.

Or something.

Winner.
 

Phil E


Referees in England
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
16,136
Post Likes
2,409
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
So Just to clarify one foot in touch/one foot in the field of play...
1. I catch the ball after crossing the plane of touch - LO to my team.
2. I catch the ball before crossing the plane of touch - LO against me as I've "carried it out."
Am I right with that yeah?

Yes.
Its the same if you are fully in touch, have a foot either side of the line, or just a foot on the line.
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,824
Post Likes
3,161
So Just to clarify one foot in touch/one foot in the field of play...
1. I catch the ball after crossing the plane of touch - LO to my team.
2. I catch the ball before crossing the plane of touch - LO against me as I've "carried it out."
Am I right with that yeah?

you are correct

(this is new Law, introduced last season)
 

thepercy


Referees in America
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
923
Post Likes
147
Current Referee grade:
Level 1
Also worth noting, you cannot cause the loss of gain in ground from kicks in front of the 22 by catching a ball that has not crossed the PoT with your foot in touch.
 

Dickie E


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
14,225
Post Likes
2,219
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
So Just to clarify one foot in touch/one foot in the field of play...
1. I catch the ball after crossing the plane of touch - LO to my team.
2. I catch the ball before crossing the plane of touch - LO against me as I've "carried it out."
Am I right with that yeah?

As others have said, yes.

And same principle applies to other lines. So a defender with one foot in in-goal and one foot in FoP catches the ball in FoP. If he then grounds it in goal, 5 metre scrum
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,824
Post Likes
3,161
As others have said, yes.

And same principle applies to other lines. So a defender with one foot in in-goal and one foot in FoP catches the ball in FoP. If he then grounds it in goal, 5 metre scrum

only if it hadn't crossed the plane, if it had crossed the plane then (assuming the attackers had played it last) it's a 22m DO.
 

Taff


Referees in Wales
Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
6,942
Post Likes
383
When I queried this before, for me the nugget came from ThePercy.

... No longer can you catch a ball in play and make it dead, rolling or otherwise, and get the possession, you've caused it to go in to touch, Ingoal or dead.
 

chbg


Referees in England
Joined
May 15, 2009
Messages
1,493
Solutions
1
Post Likes
451
Current Referee grade:
Level 7
only if it hadn't crossed the plane, if it had crossed the plane then (assuming the attackers had played it last) it's a 22m DO.

"catches in FoP" means that it hasn't crossed the plane.
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,824
Post Likes
3,161
"catches in FoP" means that it hasn't crossed the plane.

Not really as you can stand in the FoP and catch a ball (a catch in the FoP) when the ball HAS crossed the plane, and it's not in touch

The touch laws are very confusing, (and IMO confused) - we need to be very specific
 
Last edited:

Dickie E


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
14,225
Post Likes
2,219
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
only if it hadn't crossed the plane, if it had crossed the plane then (assuming the attackers had played it last) it's a 22m DO.

well, that depends which way the ball was travelling ... towards or away from the DBL.

Remember, precision is important.
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,824
Post Likes
3,161
Quite right :)

And, perhaps, how it was last played ..was it kicked or was it thrown forward. So many variables ... h
 
Last edited:
Top