[Law] Quiz # 7 (of 10)

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,816
Post Likes
3,154
Time for a more light-hearted question : there is no way we can come to blows over this fun scenario.
(is there ?)

As always, give yourself as much time as you would on the pitch (not long, for this one) and then give your decision, A B C D or E. No Law Spoilers I'll provide an answer tomorrow.


White v Black in a crucial game

White are losing by one point with two minutes to go, when black give away a PK on the half way line.

Watched by a TV audience of millions, up steps Elliot Daly who lines up a 50m shot at posts to take the lead

Daly strikes the ball perfectly ... and it soars high through the air ... it's on target for a posts
... and it hits one of the cables that suspend the spider cam and falls down to the field of play ..

Your decision -

A Play on !
B Scrum White
C Scrum Black
D take the PK again
E judge whether the PK would have gone over or not and award it / restart with a DO accordingly
 

Taff


Referees in Wales
Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
6,942
Post Likes
383
A. Play on for me.

A year or so ago. I refereed a match where there were electricity cables going across the pitch at about 30' to 40' above the ground. During the PMB I said "If the ball hits a cable we play on OK!". One of the players laughed and said "I've been playing here for 10 years and I have never seen a ball hit those cables". Have a wild guess what happened? :biggrin:
 

menace


Referees in Australia
Joined
Nov 20, 2009
Messages
3,657
Post Likes
633
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
B. Scrum white. (Logic: Unusual stoppage..white going forward. Also akin to the ball hitting the ref and one team getting an advantage)????

But I play golf so I prefer its law with this and let them take it again!
 

SimonSmith


Referees in Australia
Staff member
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
9,397
Post Likes
1,510
This came up in a Hampshire referee meeting in the mid 90s. It was a pigeon that got struck however. It wasn't a "fun" question!

I have some pitches with unusual quirks in them in this area. We agree ground rules (which is actually the origin of the phrase) before we kick off.

I'm going scrum, kicking team.
 

Not Kurt Weaver


Referees in America
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
2,292
Post Likes
159
I think it is a line out. To white

On the halfway line
 
Last edited:

Drift


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jan 6, 2010
Messages
1,846
Post Likes
114
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
B - scrum white.

I remember the RWC in 03 being played in Oz. One of the grounds has a roof and they stipulated that if the ball hit the roof it was scrum to the kicking side so I am going with that logic.
 

DocY


Referees in England
Joined
Dec 10, 2015
Messages
1,809
Post Likes
421
In law, it's a lineout to black in line with the kick - the ball hit something outside the FoP (IME this is more likely to be an overhanging tree) having not got there via a PK to touch.

But if I were really there, being fully confident in the world-class refereeing abilities that had been bestowed upon me to get me appointed to such a game, my response would be "Move the f****** camera and take the kick again!"
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,816
Post Likes
3,154
So here is what I think is the correct answer

This situation is governed by 6.9.f

[LAWS].
THE BALL BECOMES DEAD

The referee will deem the ball to be dead when:
a. The ball is in touch or touch in-goal.
b. The ball is grounded in in-goal.
c. A conversion has been attempted.
d. A try, penalty or dropped goal has been scored.
e. The ball or ball-carrier touches the dead-ball line or anything beyond it.
f. The ball hits anything above the playing area.
[/LAWS]

So the ball is dead.

I am surprised that people think a lineout would happen ? The ball is dead but it's not in touch

The restart is a scrum .

Where ? And who gets the put in?
That's not properly covered in Law .. while I know people could make a case to award it to the team going forward or the team attacking, in real life I would be astonished if anyone did anything different from
Place . Beneath where it hit the cable and went dead
Who puts in . White

So B Scrum White
 

Taff


Referees in Wales
Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
6,942
Post Likes
383
6.9 THE BALL BECOMES DEAD

The referee will deem the ball to be dead when:

f. The ball hits anything above the playing area.

Is that a new law then? I don't remember reading that before. :chin:
 

didds

Resident Club Coach
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
12,145
Post Likes
1,838
I am surprised that people think a lineout would happen ? The ball is dead but it's not in touch

I seem to recall from somewhere buried deep in the depths of what masquerades as my brain, from a time before something or other, that this concept is lifted from a ball hits overhanging tree branch -> tree roots/trunk are in touch -> ball is in touch -> lineout.

Of course that is now superseded possibly as CR has listed above.

didds
 

Pablo


Referees in England
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
1,413
Post Likes
112
Current Referee grade:
Level 6
The bigger issue here is that crossref has misnumbered the quiz, as #7 was the tackle in goal question. Or are the quizzes being renumbered in the 2018 rewrite? :sarc:
 
Last edited:

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,816
Post Likes
3,154
The bigger issue here is that crossref has misnumbered the quiz, as #7 was the tackle in goal question. Or are the quizzes being renumbered in the 2018 rewrite? :sarc:

Yes I have two #7 and can't edit the thread title

If some kind MOD could change the thread to be 8/10 Mind the Spider

That would be lovely
 

Dickie E


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
14,209
Post Likes
2,205
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
6.9 THE BALL BECOMES DEAD

The referee will deem the ball to be dead when:

f. The ball hits anything above the playing area.

and that presumably excludes the crossbars?
 

DocY


Referees in England
Joined
Dec 10, 2015
Messages
1,809
Post Likes
421
Strange then that it isn't highlited as a law change. :chin:

I imagine it was mentioned to those who might have cameras above the playing area some time ago, and that they forgot about those of us who have tree branches up there.

So another one that's a law change for some but not for others.
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,816
Post Likes
3,154
An interesting follow up to this question is scenarios such as

Red kick long for touch , the ball travels 40m upfield and just inside the touchline it makes a glancing contact with the spider cam , and continues into touch .

Decision ?

(a clue - this law is not properly thought through )
 

Not Kurt Weaver


Referees in America
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
2,292
Post Likes
159
[LAWS].
THE BALL BECOMES DEAD


f. The ball hits anything above the playing area.
[/LAWS]

So the ball is dead.

I am surprised that people think a lineout would happen ? The ball is dead but it's not in touch

Oh yes it is (in touch)

Touch or touch-in-goal

The ball is in touch or touch-in-goal when:
a. The ball or ball-carrier touches the touchline, touch-in-goal line or
anything beyond.

I bit ridiculous, but remember this is rugby not brain surgery. It is intentionally absurd. Trying to make sense of it is a fool's endeavor


Yes the ball is dead, why is it dead? the ball has touched anything beyond


Ain't it great, comedy. Alas we our again its (rugby) fools
 
Last edited:
Top