Ref signals

Greig

Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
I am new to refereeing, and I am struggling with correct signals.

Can someone please advise the signals for the following:

Playing the ball on the ground
Incorrect numbers in the line-out
Lifting tackle (foul play)

Is there a resource available for this?

TigerCraig

Referees in Australia
Post Likes
Ball on ground is signal 25 if you mean use of hands, signal 9 if you mean holding on, signal 14 if you mean falling over ball

Incorrect numbers, I normally just point at the offending line, then the non offending line as I run to the 15m and say something like "numbers 7 against 6:

Lifting tackle, as per other foul play signals 37, 38 & 39 I would "mimic" the action - generally both hands with clenched fists describing a parabola

Ian_Cook

Referees in New Zealand
Staff member
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Level 2

Welcome to rugbyrefs.com

Here is a link to the signals on the iRB Laws website

http://www.irblaws.com/EN/signals/

or you can download the whole 2012 Laws of the Game from here

http://www.irblaws.com/downloads/EN/IRB_Laws_2012_EN.pdf

Signals are at pages 176- 189

Dickie E

Referees in Australia
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
Greig, Level 4? I thought we only went up to Level 3 in Oz?

Ian_Cook

Referees in New Zealand
Staff member
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
Greig, Level 4? I thought we only went up to Level 3 in Oz?

Playing grade perhaps? That would be 4ths here... two levels below Senior Reserves

TigerCraig

Referees in Australia
Post Likes
Given he is one of my brothers from Sydney North, I'm guessing he means Tier 4

In Sydney we have 5 active Tiers of Refs - beginners like my son are at Tier 5 (doing Under 10's/Under 11's). Most experienced are Tier 1 doing Under 16-Under 18 and representative games.