Volunteers?

Chickref

Referees in New Zealand
Post Likes
Anyone in the country for the WC should volunteer. Mostly because theyre well short of target... And because it will be intense fun to just be part of something this big.

I'm a photo assistant in Dunedin... And that means being sideline!:bday:

Robert Burns

, Referees in Canada, RugbyRefs.com Webmaster
Staff member
Post Likes
I'm a referee, but apparently they don't need anymore of them, and if they did, there is approximately 2000 in the queue ahead of me!
:wink:

I want to get tickets and the game tickets look reasonably priced, the package deals however seem to be rip off city!!!!

Simon Thomas

Referees in England
Staff member
Post Likes
I have the deepest sympathy for the loss of life and disruption caused by the Christchurch earthquake, and its logistical impact on RWC 2011. I also retain the utmost respect for Kiwi Rugby, but I remain doubtful as to the suitability of this small population country for a RWC, which I had at the time of the annoucement a few years ago. From personal experience it is difficult & expensive to travel to NZ, with relatively poor road / rail communications between the dispersed major cities, and with limited visitor accommodation options.

I hope I am proved wrong, but I struggle to see how NZ can generate the critical mass of volunteers from within its own population and also attract the scale of visiting fan bases that a Lions Tour would do.

I am anticipating a terrific on field tournament, some brilliant matches and a final that is outstanding. But I suspect early match crowds may be low, incoming fans limited and the RWC profit to the IRB is going to be low.

Robert Burns

Staff member
Post Likes
I believe the RWC is expected to make a loss, I remember hearing somewhere that NZ$30m loss was a success and the NZ population will pick up the rest.