Communication skills

Red Horseman

Player or Coach
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
I gave a presentation a while ago to my local refs society on subconscious influences on decision making (my background is in hostage negotiation), and have now been asked to give a presentation to coaches around communication with referees.

Could I therefore ask forum members for examples of verbal and non verbal communication that they regularly encounter - either from coaches or players - that affects your on-field relationship with them in both positive and negative ways.

PLEASE DO NOT IDENTIFY A CLUB OR INDIVIDUAL - that is not the purpose of the exercise!

Thank you.

Dixie

Referees in England
Post Likes
Great idea!

As a fairly recently retired ref, I can give a very honest and dispassionate response without fear that it may affect my Society's view of me and my impartiality.

The comms from the captains were almost always kept within proper bounds. The only times that exceptions occurred came when the captain was party to a commonly-held myth - usually "you can't take the second one quickly", or "he has to let him up, Sir!". I have yellow carded more than one captain for unacceptable dissent when his team has switched off and conceded a score in the belief that I was required to allow them time to reorganise when they'd cheated to prevent a tap penalty going anywhere. It would help if captains were to be given training in the laws, but by and large the captains are not the problem when it comes to communication.