[Maul] Maul - Driving or Rolling

ChrisR

Player or Coach
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
Not to be pedantic but . . .

As a coach I've always differentiated between between a 'rolling' and 'driving' maul. That seems to have gone out the window.

Decorily

Coach/Referee
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade

As a coach I've always differentiated between between a 'rolling' and 'driving' maul. That seems to have gone out the window.

Elaborate!

Edit....Is there a question or just a statement?

Last edited:

Flish

Referees in England
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Level 8

love to be educated, always thought of both as meaning a ‘moving maul’

SimonSmith

Referees in Australia
Staff member
Post Likes
love to be educated, always thought of both as meaning a ‘moving maul’

I suspect the difference is the point of attack.
AFAIU, a driving maul is heading roughly due north.
A rolling maul moves the point of attack from side to side - which requires a little more activity from the referee.

Marc Wakeham

Referees in Wales
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
A rolling maul "rolls" around a centre / axis / focal point that point move from goal line to goal line.

A driving maul goes in an aproximately straight line from goal line to goal line.

Flish

Referees in England
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
I always thought a ‘driving’ maul was the aim, but sometimes you end up with a ‘rolling’ one

Decorily

Coach/Referee
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
I always thought a ‘driving’ maul was the aim, but sometimes you end up with a ‘rolling’ one

Indeed the aim is to drive forward...but by 'rolling' , or as has been mentioned previously rotating, to change the point of attack the forward movement can be maximised by making it difficult for the defenders to stop the momentum.

didds

Resident Club Coach
Post Likes