You missed Andrew Mehrtens in your list of Aussie commentators btw.To those Aussie commentators (Horan, Kearns, Martin et al) claiming they have never, ever in their careers previously seen a turnover of possession awarded by a referee for delaying the game, I'm just going to go right ahead and call BS on that! They may not have seen this precise scenario involving a PK being kicked for touch, but I'll bet dollars to donuts that they have at least seen a scrum-half get FK for delaying the put in to a scrum, or the hooker get FK delaying the throw in to a lineout.
Strange. I always thought the laws of the game applied equally at any time in the game... from the opening whistle to no-side.
Various reports in the press today that WR agree with Australia's complaints
well, it's not unheard of for WR to say a ref got something wrong:
Takes note that Dave Rennie claims. Pardon me if I don't take that at face value.Head coach Dave Rennie claims governing body were in agreement with Wallabies that Raynal made an error in last week's Bledisloe Cup matchwww.telegraph.co.uk
... of fact and of law during a match.
All those reports come from Australian news sources, and their source is Dave Rennie saying what he claims he was told... i.o.w. hearsayVarious reports in the press today that WR agree with Australia's complaints
I didn't know that. Just confirms how clearly out of his depth the Frenchman was. If he wanted Foley to wait he should have blown time off and done it properly. A full house at this stadium with the roof closed is not the place for meek & mild requests.Also, this has come to light today. Foley may well have instigated the the whole time wasting situation earler in the game by wilfully disregarding clear and direct instructions from the referee not to kick the conversion of Kelloway's try... three time, he has ignored Raynal's instructions to wait!
‘Wait please’: The ‘huge’ snub that may have led to French referee’s ‘ridiculous’ Bledisloe Cup ruling‘Wait please’: The ‘huge’ snub that may have triggered referee’s ‘ridiculous’ Bledisloe Cup callwww.foxsports.com.au
"Raynal clearly told Foley to “please wait” as the Australian No.10, playing his first Test since the 2019 World Cup, lined up a shot in a matter of seconds where he successfully converted.“Wait please. You have to wait. You have to wait!” Raynal said.Nonetheless, the French referee did not take any action, instead allowing the conversion to stand as Foley ran back into his half.While rarely do kickers actively ignore instructions from referees, quick kicks are often taken when there is an element of fear tries might be overturned or when teams are chasing the game."
But he can do that. Blow the whistle, call time off and it doesn't matter what Foley does then. We're all very happy to support the mantra of "play to the whistle" except when we're not.This is another case where the Law is an ass. The goal kicker should not have the ability to limit the referee's actions. The referee should be allowed to consult the TMO (or the TMO should be able to call-in) any time after the try has been scored, and before the half-way restart.
But if he blows time on again, it's still his fault when Foley doesn't follow his instructions and then gets penalised.But he can do that. Blow the whistle, call time off and it doesn't matter what Foley does then. We're all very happy to support the mantra of "play to the whistle" except when we're not.