What goes into a FR PMB?

ChrisR

Player or Coach
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
A front row pre match brief may/may not be required by your society/union. However, as a coach, I expect it. As a coach I just shake my head if the referee drones on about the engagement sequence with the FRs rolling their eyes, kicking the turf just waiting for the end.

What's in your FR PMB?

Accylad

Referees in England
Post Likes
Hooker set up left of my mark. Crouch bind set. Start straight, stay straight.

OB..

Referees in England
Staff member
Post Likes
I see a variety of approaches. Most refs are content to identify FRs plus FR subs, and confirm that they are aware of the requirements of CBS sequence. A few make a specific point, many say they will check carefully at the first scrum. Front rows don't seem to mind that.

FlipFlop

Referees in Switzerland
Post Likes
Mine: I first check that I have the same number of FR there as on the match sheet. Then:
"Calls will be in English today. Crouch, Bind, Set. Wait for the call. #9 - will touch your back, or indicate like so (make gesture), when you can put the ball in. Okay?"

CrouchTPEngage

Referees in England
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
I also remind them about their duties of binding and dont be tempted to foot-up before put-in

Rushforth

Referees in Holland
Post Likes
Mine, when I do it, is chapter and verse. I first (half an hour before the game) check with both coaches whether they have experienced front rows. If either side doesn't, then my PMB will be about 5 minutes later, and take 3 minutes or so. All FR to attend, SH optional.