Jumping over the tackle again

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,816
Post Likes
3,154
why do you say that? Clarification seems clear & unambiguous to me. Am I missing something?
They didn't actually answer Q2 .. was Johnny May legal ? They just give the framework for the decision and invite you to make your own mind up
 

Dickie E


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
14,209
Post Likes
2,205
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
They didn't actually answer Q2 .. was Johnny May legal ? They just give the framework for the decision and invite you to make your own mind up
Yeah OK. I think the conclusion is that, if the next point of contact is the ball with the in-goal, then play on. But that's just my view
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,816
Post Likes
3,154
Yeah OK. I think the conclusion is that, if the next point of contact is the ball with the in-goal, then play on. But that's just my view
I think it's legal, but then I look again at how close his boot is to the tacklers head and ...
 

Balones

Referee Advisor / Assessor
Joined
Oct 24, 2006
Messages
1,475
Post Likes
520
Perhaps WR will take on Tom Daley as an adviser?
 

Balones

Referee Advisor / Assessor
Joined
Oct 24, 2006
Messages
1,475
Post Likes
520
I think they didn’t answer Q2 because even they don’t know and can’t decide.
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,816
Post Likes
3,154
I think they didn’t answer Q2 because even they don’t know and can’t decide.
maybe it's better to explain the principles and framework, rather than a sinlge decision and have everyone extrapolate what the principles and framework must be.
 

didds

Resident Club Coach
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
12,145
Post Likes
1,838
Yeah OK. I think the conclusion is that, if the next point of contact is the ball with the in-goal, then play on. But that's just my view
fair point and I concur.

Until one day there is a dispute over whether the ball was grounded in-goal or just outside. Goes to TMKO etc. decision is no-try, grounded just short. does that make the action njow a PK and possible card just because of a blade or two of whitewashed grass ?
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,816
Post Likes
3,154
Yeah OK. I think the conclusion is that, if the next point of contact is the ball with the in-goal, then play on. But that's just my view
I think that's an important factor, but not the only factor -- hence they cannot say unequivocally that May was legal
 

Dickie E


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
14,209
Post Likes
2,205
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
So if a ball carrier steps/jumps over a prone player who is not attempting to tackle, that is OK?
 

Dickie E


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
14,209
Post Likes
2,205
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
Does it apply to ARs too?
 

Attachments

  • FB_IMG_1646257007563.jpg
    FB_IMG_1646257007563.jpg
    32 KB · Views: 5

Jarrod Burton


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jun 19, 2013
Messages
725
Post Likes
208
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
Yeah OK. I think the conclusion is that, if the next point of contact is the ball with the in-goal, then play on. But that's just my view
Cool. So jumping over a tackler is illegal for 90m of the park, but legal within the last 5m? Talk about making the waters muddied with a clarification, but I guess that's pretty normal with WR documents.
 

Jz558


Referees in England
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
392
Post Likes
136
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
Cool. So jumping over a tackler is illegal for 90m of the park, but legal within the last 5m? Talk about making the waters muddied with a clarification, but I guess that's pretty normal with WR documents.
No, jumping over a tackle is illegal in the first 90 or last 5m of the park. Diving for a try isn't. The only thing a ref needs to distuinguish is a jump/hurdle from a dive. I reckon I can do that.
 

Balones

Referee Advisor / Assessor
Joined
Oct 24, 2006
Messages
1,475
Post Likes
520
I’m just happy that I can carry on advising referees to do what I have been doing for the last fifty years!
 

Stu10


Referees in England
Joined
Mar 10, 2020
Messages
883
Post Likes
478
Current Referee grade:
Level 15 - 11
This is one of those topics where people (in general, not particularly this community) can become blinkered, IMHO... I've seen on Twitter and other forums, people making statements that the law does not directly address hurdling a tackle, or cite examples when a penalty was not awarded, therefore they argue that hurdling a tackle must be allowed, at least in some instances (i.e. when a penalty has not been awarded). The fact that a penalty has not been awarded does not necessarily make it a legal action, the same way a forward pass does not become legal because there is an example when a ref did not blow for a scrum.
 
Top