Referee and Coach Insurance

PG_BoE

Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Level 15 - 11
This is a short insurance question. I am a L2 RFU Coach and National Foundation Referee. I recall some years ago that if a person coached or refereed away from his 'home' club (eg at a school or college) he/she was not insured under the RFU compulsory policy ... the school or college whould have to offer the cover. The situation would be different for members of a Referee Society who have their own cover (for refereeing at least).

Has this situation now changed? The RFU website insurance wording (below) indicates that 'any person' - qualified or not - would now be covered to carry out any of the coaching or refereeing activities I have outlined above wherever they take place? Wording below from RFU website.

Who is insured – any person acting as a referee, touch judge, coach, trainer, instructor or voluntary medical attendant during a Rugby Football Union approved activity

Dixie

Referees in England
Post Likes
It has changed. Several years ago, Societies all had separate policies because the RFU policy didn't adequately cover them. Those policies have been allowed to lapse because the RFU sorted it with Marsh. The RFU insurance now covers any ref anywhere in RFU-land - even if you drag the local untrained drunk off his arse because your Society ref has crashed en route.

Phil E

Referees in England
Staff member
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
Doesnt he have to be appointed by the match organiser to be covered?

Dixie

Referees in England
Post Likes
How many matches does your Society organise annually?

http://www.rfu.com/managingrugby/in...ng rugby/insurance/2013_14_cover_summary.ashx

Refs and Coaches Liability

Insured -