[Golden Oldies] Reports on Referee post-game on WhosTheRef

Vovonne

Referees in England
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Level 15 - 11
Hello everyone, <br><br>I'm a new female referee and new joiner on this forum and would welcome your views on this issue I had at the weekend, when I refereed my second game.<br><br>I thought the game had gone ok for a second game, of course I give myself plenty of work ons after each game but also try to be positive and notice the good things I did and areas of focus from the last game that I managed to implement well. I went to the clubhouse afterwards and left on a really positive note as the away team's coach gave me some helfpul and overall positive feedback on how I'd managed the game, played advantage well etc., along with a couple of points to work on. The home team's coach only said to me thank you for the game and that was it. I then saw a couple of days afterwards that the home team had filed a report on me via the WhosTheRef website, which was overall very negative without giving any details (only saying "Significant Improvement Needed" in respect of quite a few areas of my game). <br><br>I was just really gutted that they couldn't give me feedback face-to-face, it would have been an opportunity to learn by discussing specific examples and it would also put simply have been more honest/open. This report felt a bit like a stab in the back. I was nothing but friendly to everyone before and after the match, they can't have felt threatened by me in that clubhouse! I'm also disappointed that this will be the first thing my Society assessors hear about me as my first assessment won't be before the 5th game (I have to send a short self assessment after each game but this report is the first one from a third party). I realise I probably need to toughen up but it's a shame that it came so early on in my refereeing journey, when I'm desperately trying to build up my confidence with every game.<br><br>So the sorts of things I was